Behind the Scenes

I recently made a video in hopes of getting some buy-in from administration as well as other faculty members at LIT that we need to change the way we do Professional Development.  It should not be a sit-and-get boring lecture session that faculty members use as a chance to catch up on their e-mail or browse for-sale sites on their mobile devices.

I started the project off by planning out the message. What was I really trying to say? Why is this matter so important to me, and how do I make other people interested in my ideas?

Once I had the basic idea and a rough draft of the script for my video, I began looking for relative images. I retrieved almost all of the images I used in the video from GraphicStock. This site provides unlimited downloads of royalty-free images to users

graphicstock
GraphicStock 

with a subscription. I decided to join this site when I first started this graduate program to ensure I always had access to high quality photos. The few images on my video that did not come from GraphicStock came from LIT’s public relations and student engagement personnel. I wanted to include these to personalize the video to my administration and coworkers.

After locating and downloading the images, I opened Windows Movie Maker, and began creating! I inserted my images, and arranged them in order of relevance with my message. Next, I recorded the voice over with my message. This is where the fun begins!

annimations
Animation Toolbar

I added transitions and animations to each slide to liven the images and draw the audience in as they follow the message. Duarte, 2009, informs us in her Five Rules for Presentations video that sometimes moving images can inspire in ways that static images cannot.                                                                   Once everything is inside Movie Maker, the tedious process of aligning the timing is started. To ensure my message is delivered as effectively as possible, I tweaked my voice over, split it into sections, and altered some of my image slide times to keep everything on track and flowing smoothly.

When I finally had everything lined up the way I liked it, I added instrumental background music from Free Music Archive to the video. The last thing I did was create a fmaCredit/Resource slide at the end, and adjust the music and narration volumes to ensure that the message could always be heard over the music.

I thoroughly enjoyed creating this movie in Windows Movie Maker. I wish I would have had a little more time, but I plan on going back and enhancing a few things I am not completely satisfied with before presenting to my administrators!

Below you will find a few more photos of my workspace and the digital tools I used to complete my video.

video tools
The Video Tools tab allows you to change the duration of individual slides and control the speed of them.

 

texttools
The Text tool bar allows you to add text to your slides, adjust the font, color, and size of the font, and add animations and special effects.

 

narrationtools
The Narration tool bar allows you to move your voice-over around, line up your message with the correct images, and control the narration volume, as well as fade the narration in and out. 

Resources:

Duarte Design’s Five Rules for Presentations by Nancy Duarte, Duarte Inc. (December 16, 2009). Retrieved March 8, 2017, from https://youtu.be/hT9GGmundag

Leave a Reply

