Learning from others

As kids, teens, and even adults, we have always been told we should learn from our mistakes. Nothing has changed, and yes, we should definitely learn from our mistakes; however, what if we didn’t have to make quite as many of those mistakes, yet we could still gain the benefits of learning the lessons as though we had? As many of you know, I am in the process of getting all of my little ducks in a row to finally start the implementation of e-portfolios in our Instrumentation department at LIT. If you are interested, and would like to read more about this exciting innovation plan, please feel free to browse through my other blog posts, especially The Plan: Enhancing with E-Ports and my Enhancing with E-Ports Video.

Over the past couple of weeks, we have spent a great deal of time filtering through resource, after resource, after resource, trying to find information about other people and organizations who have already implemented e-portfolios within their classrooms. I was not concerned with just any information regarding e-portfolios though. I wanted the good stuff! I wanted to see what went wrong during implementation! What went right during implementation? What advice, tips, and techniques could these people pass along to others like me? Studying and organizing this data will help me learn from their mistakes, their trials, their obstacles, and their success! I have compiled some of the key lessons I have taken away from this research in the video you see above.

When we get so excited about starting something new, leading a change, or inspiring other people, we tend to overlook things. Some of these small things that get overlooked could potentially be devastating to an innovation plan like the one I am dreaming of! Hopefully by taking these extra steps, and identifying some of these lessons upfront, I will have the upper hand, and will have an increased chance at true success in sparking a light of change within my organization.

 

Leave a Reply

